KAP keeps Mt Isa and Dalrymple but loses Condamine

KATTER'S Australian Party has managed to keep two out of three seats in Queensland, holding on to Mount Isa and Dalrymple but losing Condamine to the LNP.

The Greens and Palmer United Party did not secure any seats, while the number of independents in Queensland has gone from three to one.

Peter Wellington held on to his seat of Nicklin, which he has held since 1998.

He secured 65.8% of after-preference votes against the LNP's Matt Trace.

KAP's Shane Knuth held on to his seat of Dalrymple.

On Saturday night he defeated LNP candidate Liz Schmidt, holding about 66.8% of the votes after preferences.

Mr Knuth has been Dalrymple's MP since 2009, when he was elected for the LNP. But in 2011 he joined Katter's Australian Party.

KAP's Mount Isa MP Rob Katter held on to his seat, securing 69.6% of after-preference votes against the LNP's John Wharton.

Mr Katter has held the seat since 2012.

- APN Newsdesk

Topics:  condamine dalrymple kap mt isa queensland election 2015

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Fighting fit in the field

Rob Muellner and Sam Eager ready for a workout at Crossfit Vivid.

Emergency service workers stay strong with CrossFit.

Region faces wild wind

DESTROYED: Half of the roof of the Moranbah home was ripped off from the 104km/h wind.

Moranbah residents say weather is worse than the cyclone.

Heroic rescue saves life

CLOSE CALL: Leslie Cruthers and Buddha at the spot the playful pup fell into the Nogoa River.

Kayakers rush to save dog walker clinging to riverbank.

Local Partners