Chelsea midfielder favourite for player of the year gong

Chelsea's N'Golo Kante is the favourite to win the PFA player of the year award.
Chelsea's N'Golo Kante is the favourite to win the PFA player of the year award. Rui Vieira

FOOTBALL: Eden Hazard and N'Golo Kante have been named among the six nominees for the English Professional Footballers' Association player of the year award.

The Chelsea duo are joined by Manchester United forward Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Tottenham striker Harry Kane, Everton's Romelu Lukaku and Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez on the full shortlist.

The winner will be announced on April 23.

Leicester City winger Riyad Mahrez scooped the prize last year, while Hazard won the award during the 2014-15 campaign.

Kante, who was short-listed last year for his part in Leicester's remarkable season but did not make the top three, is the bookmakers' favourite.

Kane - the only English nominee in this category - is aiming to lead his second-placed English Premier League team Tottenham to victory over Bournemouth tonight to close the gap to leader Chelsea - which hosts Southampton on Wednesday morning - to four points.

Tonight: Tottenham v Bournemouth, 10.30pm; Crystal Palace v Leicester, Everton v Burnley; Stoke v Hull; Sunderland v West Ham; Watford v Swansea, 1am; Southampton v Manchester City, 3.30am

Topics:  english league premier

News Corp Australia

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Region faces wild wind

DESTROYED: Half of the roof of the Moranbah home was ripped off from the 104km/h wind.

Moranbah residents say weather is worse than the cyclone.

Heroic rescue saves life

CLOSE CALL: Leslie Cruthers and Buddha at the spot the playful pup fell into the Nogoa River.

Kayakers rush to save dog walker clinging to riverbank.

National super star at age 13

Competing in Rotorua, New Zealand earlier this year.

Dingo local takes on international motocross competition.

Local Partners