BROKE THROUGH: British rider Chaz Davies during the weekend's Superbike World Championship race at Aragon in Spain.
BROKE THROUGH: British rider Chaz Davies during the weekend's Superbike World Championship race at Aragon in Spain. Javier Cebollada

Davies ends Rea's unbeaten run

SUPERBIKES: Jonathan Rea's 2017 winning streak is at an end, but he didn't give it up without a fight.

Chaz Davies snapped the reigning Superbike World Champion's tally at five, taking Ducati's first win of the season after a barnstorming final lap of race two at Aragon.

Rea launched several attacks before Davies finally surged ahead, pipping Rea to the line by half a second to make amends for his late crash in race one.

"The whole weekend has been difficult, from start to finish, so it was really important to cap it with a win, especially after yesterday's disappointment," Davies said.

"We were confident our bike would be fast at Aragon, but it wasn't easy at all out there today and our main rivals seem relatively comfortable so we know there's still work to do in many areas.

"Today we suffered a bit with grip early on. Also, the wind was really strong. It kept pushing me away from corners and in the last lap I got caught by a gust going into turn five and I missed a backshift, going a bit wide, but we still managed to finish in front."

Marco Melandri made it two Ducatis on the podium ahead of an unwell Tom Sykes, who staved off Michael Van Der Mark for fourth on the final lap.

It was Van Der Mark's Yamaha teammate Alex Lowes who led the early stages, the Englishman staying right in the thick of the fight for the final podium position before running off the track. He would finish the race in 13th.

Xavi Fores was the first of the local hopes home in sixth, heading fellow Spaniard Jordi Torres, while Leandro Mercado, Eugene Laverty and Leon Camier rounded out the top 10.

The next round of the Superbike World Championship is at Assen on April 28-30.

RESULTS: WorldSBK Rd. 3 - Aragon, Race 2 (18 laps)

1. (7) Chaz Davies (Ducati) 33m30.906s

2. (1) Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki) +0.483s

3. (33) Marco Melandri (Ducati) +2.479s

4. (66) Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) +10.562s

5. (60) Michael Van der Mark (Yamaha) +13.336s

6. (12) Xavi Fores (Ducati) +16.951s

7. (81) Jordi Torres (BMW) +18.638s

8. (36) Leandro Mercado (Aprilia) +18.7s

9. (50) Eugene Laverty (Aprilia) +21.29s

10. (2) Leon Camier (MV Agusta) +22.246s

11. (40) Roman Ramos (Kawasaki) +24.307s

12. (6) Stefan Bradl (Honda) +25.829s

13. (22) Alex Lowes (Yamaha) +26.611s

14. (88) Randy Krummenacher (Kawasaki) +40.575s

15. (3) Julian Simon (Aprilia) +40.769s

16. (21) Markus Reiterberger (BMW) +40.915s

17. (86) Ayrton Badovini (Kawasaki) +1m00.980s

DNF (15) Alex De Angelis (Kawasaki) 13 laps

DNF (84) Riccardo Russo (Yamaha) 12 laps

DNF (69) Nicky Hayden (Honda) 11 laps

News Corp Australia

Students go rural

Students go rural

UQ medical students get hands-on.

Emerald student finds her passion

Emerald student finds her passion

Emerald student excited to take the next step to her future.

Passionate about pool venture

Passionate about pool venture

Capella Aquatic Centre managers are excited to see change in 2019.