More to have their say on FFA's Johnny Warren Medal

FOOTBALL Federation Australia has changed its voting process for the prestigious Johnny Warren Medal, including former players, referees, coaching experts and members of the media on its judging panel.

Former players from the NSL and Hyundai A-League eras (Damien Mori and Nick Carle will also be included, as well as a member of the FFA technical staff, and former winner Ante Milicic.

Match officials from each game, and a senior member of the Australian football media including FFA broadcast partners, print and radio journalists will also vote. The changes were implemented following consultation with all A-League clubs, the Professional Footballers' Association and the Warren Family.

"The family of Johnny Warren applauds the FFA for striving to lift the profile of the Johnny Warren Medal and endorses this new format," said Jamie Warren, the nephew of the late Johnny Warren.

Topics:  a-league ffa

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Learn to meal prep like a pro

IN THE KITCHEN: Learn how to prepare nutritional meals for your week.

Find out more on how to meal prep like a pro.

Leaving a legacy for his sons

Find out about another of the great cars from the Emerald Car Club

Pioneer Park on track

Emerald 100 race day, 2017.

The first Emerald races for 2018 are on this weekend.

Local Partners