BANG Showbiz

New Elvis Presley album released this October

A NEW Elvis Presley album is being released which features the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra on classic tracks such as 'Suspicious Minds' and 'A Big Hunk O' Love'.

The LP is titled 'The Wonder Of You: Elvis Presley With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra' and will be available to buy on October 14 by Sony Music.

It is the follow-up to last year's huge global phenomenon 'If I Can Dream: Elvis Presley With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra', which topped charts across the world and sold 1.5 million copies.

Recorded at the famous Abbey Road Studios in London with acclaimed producers Don Reedman and Nick Patrick, the tracklisting features some of Elvis' most dramatic performances on songs such as 'Amazing Grace', 'Kentucky Rain' 'Always On My Mind' and 'I've Got A Thing About You Baby' all complete with new arrangements by the world famous orchestra.

His ex-wife Priscilla Presley acted as executive producer on the project and insists Elvis - who died in August 1977 at the age of 42 - would have loved to have heard his distinctive voice teamed with classical instruments on this selection of songs.

In a statement released to BANG Showbiz, she said: "Elvis always loved the great, operatic vocalists. We often talked about his interest in recording material that allowed him to perform in that space. It's exciting to hear him on these recordings, performing with the world class Royal Philharmonic Orchestra via the magic of Abbey Road Studios. He would have loved these performances and I'm very happy that we were able to make this dream come true for Elvis and his fans."

Producer Nick Patrick added: "As with the first time we stepped into this amazing world - it is the extraordinary intimacy of Elvis' vocal performances that is truly breathtaking. The exquisite and effortless way he takes us on an emotional journey with him through delicate sensitivity to power and grace all within a magical three-minute song. It's a wonderful, wonderful privilege for which we are truly grateful.

"I believe we have made an album that is uplifting, sensitive, heart touching and fun - the way that Elvis was and still is to so many of us. His spirit has never left the building!"

The album precedes a major UK arena event, 'Elvis In Concert', which starts November 17 featuring a very special personal appearance by Priscilla.

Fans will see Elvis live on screen accompanied by the Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra performing renditions of songs from 'If I Can Dream' and 'The Wonder Of You' and tickets for the unique concerts are still available.

The Wonder Of You: Elvis Presley With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra trcklisting:

  1. A Big Hunk O' Love
  2. I've Got A Thing About You Baby
  3. Suspicious Minds
  4. Don't
  5. I Just Can't Help Believin'
  6. Just Pretend
  7. Love Letters
  8. Amazing Grace
  9. Starting Today
  10. Kentucky Rain
  11. Memories
  12. Let It Be Me
  13. Always On My Mind
  14. The Wonder Of You

100 Aussie schools get free fruit for a day

100 Aussie schools get free fruit for a day

Find out how to get involved with Woolworth free give away

Lawyer for accused Clairview dugong killer withdraws

Premium Content Lawyer for accused Clairview dugong killer withdraws

Magistrate James Morton expressed frustration over ongoing delays with hearing the...

DON'T MISS OUT: Activate your bonus for big rewards

DON'T MISS OUT: Activate your bonus for big rewards

Did you know you can get even more – for free?