Serena still in hunt for sixth title

TOURNAMENT top seeds Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams will hit centre court in Melbourne today hoping to pull off an Australian Open first.

One of them has won the Open every year since 2007, except for 2014 when they both bowed out in the quarter-finals.

Between them they have won nine Australian Open titles, Williams with five (2003, '05, '07, '09, '10), and Djokovic four (2008, '11, '12, '13), but have never won in the same year.

Djokovic begins his quest for a fifth Open crown and eighth grand slam title against Slovenia's Aljaz Bedene, who has been bundled out of the Australian Open in the first round in two previous visits to Melbourne.

The 25-year-old has not got past the first round in six starts in grand slam events.

Williams (pictured) will launch her quest for a sixth Australian Open crown, and a remarkable 19th grand slam title, against Belgium's Alison Van Uytvanck.

Ranked as high as 73 in the world, the 20-year-old was a first-round casualty in her first Australian Open last year.

Williams heads into the Open as the world's No.1 female player for a 100th consecutive week, but with a few doubters after playing below her best here last year and failing to impress during the recent Hopman Cup

She hasn't been able to win the Open since 2010 and at 33 she said she knew time was running out.

"I've been going for No.6 for a number of years now," the American said.

"It would be really special for me. I want it I think more than anyone else here, but that doesn't mean I'm going to get it."

Topics:  australian open novak djokovic serena williams

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Discover a land before time

FLASH BACK: The Central Highlands were once home to multitudes of volcanos, spread over the plains.

Go on a journey through the land before time with Peter Grigg.

Race day to help locked out miners

No Caption

Moranbah race day held to help raise funds for locked out miners.

On the verge of history

Brooks Pleasure, won Race 1 at Callaghan Park.

Brook's Pleasure is making history at Callaghan Park.

Local Partners